Apple Says It’s Strengthening macOS’s Full Disk Access Controls Due to New AI Agent Risks

Apple Says It’s Strengthening macOS’s Full Disk Access Controls Due to New AI Agent Risks

Days after a journalist claimed that Meta’s Muse app on Mac was reading their private messages – a claim Meta disputed – Apple announced the introduction of additional controls around a setting called “Full Disk Access” on macOS. The feature was designed to allow backups to function properly, but AI agents have now increased “the risks associated with this level of access,” Apple said.

Apple’s statement comes shortly after Inc.’s columnist. Jason Aten reported that Muse knew the content of his private messages – even though he claimed not to have given permission to the AI ​​agent. The report raises questions about the level of security and trust users have in computer-based AI, which can control things on their systems and read their files and messages.

The decision also comes after a Wired Report cited that a flaw in ChatGPT’s Mac app could have allowed hackers to access sensitive data.

AI agents that run on the desktop allow users to provide their respective applications with better access to files, messages, and other personal content on their computers by adjusting macOS settings.

In the case of Muse, the AI ​​optionally allows users to enable full disk access. This setting, Apple explains, allows an app to access files, mail, messages and even browsing history.

“Some developers are using full disk access in a way that could put users at risk, by exposing everything on their systems… without users’ knowledge and knowledge,” Apple said. in a new blog post intended for developers.

The company says that in the future it will introduce new controls aimed at ensuring that users who “really want to grant an app this extraordinary level of access” can only do so with “very explicit user action.”

“Addressing this issue is critical. As AI agents become increasingly capable and autonomous, the risks associated with this level of access will increase significantly. We are committed to ensuring that users clearly understand these risks before granting such access, so that they can make informed decisions about their own data and privacy,” Apple wrote.

Apple did not respond to TechCrunch’s inquiry regarding the feature change.

Correction: Due to an editorial error, the change was described as a “limitation” of permissions by Apple. After publication, the author of this article updated the wording to reflect his original intent: the change reflects informed consent, but does not constitute a new limit.

When you purchase through links in our articles, we may earn a small commission. This does not affect our editorial independence.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *